EPSRC launches early career forum in manufacturing research

The Manufacturing the Future theme is today delighted to announce the launch of the Early Career Forum in Manufacturing Research, with an initial membership comprised of twenty promising early career academics, all of whom have ambitions to shape the future UK manufacturing research agenda.

Dr. Derek Gillespie, portfolio manager within Manufacturing the Future, said, “The Forum is designed to bring together early career academics who have the potential to become future leaders in fields of UK manufacturing research. By using the Forum, we hope we can help the members grow their professional network to include other academics from a diverse range of research fields, representatives of UK manufacturing industries, and a range of relevant policy and decision makers”.

Forum membership was determined after an open application and peer review process, which saw almost seventy applicants whittled down to a final list of twenty candidates. In response to the high levels of interest in being part of the Forum, EPSRC will look to refresh and renew the membership of the Forum in approximately two years time.

The first members of the Early Career Forum are:

  • Dr Aidan Hindmarch, Durham University
  • Dr Adam Clare, University of Nottingham
  • Dr Candice Majewski, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Colm Connaughton, Warwick University
  • Dr Rob Darlington, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Dr Elliot Woolley, Loughborough University
  • Dr Frederik Claeyssens, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Jonathan Shephard, Heriot-Watt University
  • Dr Patrick Smith, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Robert Thomas, Loughborough University
  • Dr Harish Bhaskaran, Exeter University
  • Dr Jin Sun, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Siddharth Patwardhan, University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Karen Coopman, Loughborough University
  • Dr Stuart Coles, Warwick University
  • Dr Simon Kuhn, University College London
  • Dr Robert Kay, Heriot-Watt University
  • Dr Kristian Groom, University of Sheffield
  • Dr Oana Ghita, Exeter University
  • Dr Haydn Martin, University of Huddersfield
Posted in Articles
%d bloggers like this: